The housing for all vision of the Prime Minister managed to stimulate optimistic sentiments amongst developers as well as builders. Not just that, but it also bestowed the citizens with a ray of hope to invest in real estate. Find out everything in this post that you must know about the Yojna. 

Launched back on June 1, 2015, this housing scheme aims at providing pucca and affordable abodes to rural as well as urban poor. To facilitate the development of the housing sector, this scheme has adopted a variety of steps to incentivise developers

This striving project comprises manifold resolutions and tactics to profit all of the involved stakeholders. Let’s dive further and understand more about this ambitious scheme. 

What Is the Scheme All About?

Commenced by the Central government, PMAY is an initiative that focuses on offering affordable houses. Initially, it was for Economically Weaker Sections (EWS) and Lower Income Groups (LIG) of the society. However, the scheme has extended for the benefits of Middle Income Group (MIG) as well.

The houses, constructed in Tier II and Tier III cities aren’t restricted to 30 sq. m but also encompass 2BHK units as well. To ensure quick completion, this humongous project is divided into two different parts, such as:

  • PMAY-Gramin: It’s a scheme that is concentrated in rural areas.
  • Under PMAY-Urban: A plan that has taken congested slums under the wings

The Eligibility Criteria:

To avail the advantages of the scheme, you must fulfil the eligibility criteria as follow:

  • A family will comprise of spouses and unmarried kids
  • You shouldn’t own a pucca or constructed house in the country
  • If you belong to the EWS or LIG category, a woman must be the house owner to get the subsidy
  • You shouldn’t be a beneficiary of any other housing scheme by the government
  • For the calculation of income, the cumulative income of the family is considered.

Minimum Income Requirement:

  • For EWS category, the annual income should be up to 3 lakh INR
  • In case you belong to LIG category, the annual income should be anywhere from 3.01 lakh to 6 lakh INR
  • For the ones who come under MIG 1 category, the annual income should be between 6.01 to 12 lakh INR
  • If you’re under MIG II category, the annual income should be 12.01 to 18 lakh INR

Documents Required:

To apply for this scheme, you’d require a specific set of documents:

  • Customer declaration undertaking
  • KYC papers with photographs
  • Additional application form
  • Salary slip as well as updated bank statement if you’re a salaried individual
  • If you’re self-employed, Income Tax Return (ITR) documents will be required for the last two years
  • Self-certificate/Affidavit as income proof

How Can You Apply for PMAY Scheme?

To make things easier, the government has provided an online registration option:

  • Visit the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana website
  • Click on Citizen Assessment 
  • Provide your Aadhaar card number
  • Your screen will then display an application form; fill the details
  • Download the form and take its print-out
  • Along with other documents, submit the form to the nearest financial institute or a bank from where you’d like to receive the loan

In case you’re thinking to apply, know that the subsidy will be decided based on whether you live in a rural area or urban. So, before applying, make sure you dig in for more information and collect all the required documents. 


Similar Posts